Private OKRs and planning sessions
Today we have released a new feature, highly requested by our enterprise customers: the ability to define permissions on planning sessions.
First, the context
Planning sessions in Gtmhub allow you to group your OKRs and define the time period in which they are to be achieved (e.g. from January 1st, 2018 to March 31st, 2018). While OKRs are all about transparency, sometimes, this transparency can be overwhelming.
Gtmhub also allows an infinite number of parallel planning sessions. So, we can easily imagine a scenario where the company itself plans annually in one planning session, while teams are planning on a quarterly basis.
Planning session permissions – Use cases
With the ability to define who can see, update, delete, create or modify permissions of planning sessions – following use cases are enabled.
Use OKRs for sensitive objectives
While OKRs are propagating transparency, transparency does not mean that absolutely everyone should have access to information. For example, the finance department may have OKRs that for legal reasons should not be public. In the same vein of thought, other sensitive initiatives such as M&A, restructuring and so on often need to be guarded.
Many times, individuals wish to set private OKRs. Sometimes, these objectives are set privately between a person and their supervisor. For various reasons, it may be impractical to have such private objectives visible to everyone. For example, objectives such as “Get along better with colleagues” or “Improve writing skills”, may cause more problems than benefits if shared with everyone.
With the ability to limit who has access to the planning session, employees can easily create private OKRs and share them only with a manager if they decided to do so.
Everyone loves to work on a project with a code name. OKRs are obviously a way to go, but no one wants to get 15 emails saying “What’s this Project Sauron thing?”. So, again, using the permissions you can create small task forces across the organization to work on a side project.
The mechanics of permissions
We have prepared documentation article that goes into all of the details of planning session permissions.
But, before you go into the article, here are the headlines:
- You can set permissions for individual users, roles, and everyone else
- You can define the rights to read, update, delete, create and modify permissions for planning sessions
- The permissions are inherited by OKRs. So, for example, if you say that users in role cannot “delete” – they will not be able to delete planning sessions, but also they will not be able to delete objectives
- The permissions are applied on a very low level – meaning, that objectives in restricted planning sessions won’t appear on timelines of people that don’t have rights to see them